UMAUMA

The token of UMA, an 'optimistic' oracle that settles disputed answers, used by Polymarket.

Rank #637Since 2020
Price on 31 Oct 2026
C$0.4732 -1.3% since 31 Jul 2026 · 99.1% below its all-time high

The short version

UMA runs an optimistic oracle: answers posted on-chain stand unless disputed, and disputes are settled by votes of staked UMA. Its main client is the prediction market Polymarket, and development is run by Risk Labs. Polymarket V2 connects both UMA and Chainlink, with the switch for new markets planned for about 2 Nov 2026. On 31 Oct 2026 one UMA cost C$0.4732. From 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026 its price changed -1.3% in Canadian dollars, and it was 99.1% below its all-time high of C$53.22 set on 4 Feb 2021.[1]

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 14 sources · next update about 1 Dec 2026

Price, past year

Past year: high C$1.56 (2 Nov 2025) · low C$0.4407 (19 Aug 2026) · -68.3%[1]

Month-end prices (table)
DateC$US$
31 Oct 2026C$0.4737US$0.3393
30 Sep 2026C$0.5798US$0.4073
31 Aug 2026C$0.5002US$0.3608
31 Jul 2026C$0.4687US$0.3341
30 Jun 2026C$0.5495US$0.3868
31 May 2026C$0.6041US$0.4379
30 Apr 2026C$0.6125US$0.4510
31 Mar 2026C$0.5505US$0.3960
28 Feb 2026C$1.14US$0.8310
31 Jan 2026C$0.8555US$0.6341
31 Dec 2025C$0.9591US$0.7004
30 Nov 2025C$1.17US$0.8341

Daily prices from CoinGecko; C$ converted at the Bank of Canada daily rate. The latest point is live when available. Past prices, not a forecast.

Choose what to see

Key facts

Price, 31 Oct 2026
C$0.4732[1]
3-month change
-1.3% in C$ (31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026)[1]
From its high
99.1% below its high of C$53.22 (4 Feb 2021)[1]
Market rank
#637, market value about C$43.8M[1]
Kind
Token · Ethereum (ERC-20); also on Avalanche
Started
2020

Checks: the same 9 questions for every coin

Facts, not a rating
Can an admin key create new coins?Not disclosedGoPlus finds a mint function; the owner role is a contract whose control was not verified[2, 3]
Can anyone freeze or take coins from holders?NoGoPlus finds no blacklist, pause or balance-change function[2]
Can the token's contract code be changed?NoFixed contract code on Ethereum, not a proxy[2]
Is the supply capped?NoNo maximum supply; staking emissions add about 5.7M UMA a year[4, 5]
Any scheduled unlocks in the next 12 months?Not disclosedNo vesting schedule published; 39.0M UMA sit outside circulation[5]
Does a team or foundation hold over 10% of supply?Not disclosedLaunch allocation not found; owner-role contract holds 26.1%, its controller unverified[2, 3]
Do network fees reach coin holders?NoNo protocol fees recorded; staking rewards come from inflation[6, 4]
Main network hacked or halted in the past 2 years?NoNo exploit recorded; the Aug 2026 request spam cost one proposer its bonds[7, 8]
Is a regulator or court case targeting the coin itself?NoNo live regulator or court case naming UMA or Risk Labs found[9]

Each answer is a fact with a source, not a score. What each check means.

Who controls it

Developer
Risk Labs runs development and the voter gas-rebate programme[9]
Disputes
Settled by token-weighted votes of staked UMA (the DVM); 7-day unstaking cooldown[4]
Owner role
Held by a contract that also holds 26.1% of UMA supply (1 Nov 2026)[2, 3]

Supply

In circulation
92.61M UMA of 131.63M in total (70.4%)[1]
Maximum supply
None set[1]
Fully diluted value
1.42 times its current market value[1]
Emissions
0.18 UMA per second to stakers: about 5.7M UMA (6.1% of circulating) a year[4]
Outside circulation
39.0M of 131.6M total; holder and release plan not published[5]
Holders
Top 10 Ethereum addresses hold 79%[10]

Use and fees

Main client
Polymarket, whose oracle moved to Managed Optimistic Oracle V2 with whitelisted proposers[11]
Fees
DefiLlama records no fees or revenue for UMA[6]
Staker rewards
Inflation emissions plus slashed tokens from wrong or missed votes[4]

Trading

Daily trading
About C$5.0M a day on average, 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026[1]
Daily turnover
Typically 6.96% of its market value changes hands each day[1]
20-week average
9.8% below its 20-week average price[1]
1-year change
-68.4% in C$[1][12]

History

Not a forecast

Coins ranked 201-500 at this point in past cycles (12-14 months after a Bitcoin peak), one year later: 8,067 cases, 1,187 coins (this coin ranks below 500, so the nearest group is shown)

33% were higher a year later[13]

Typical result
Median -38% after a year; 33% higher after two years
Lost half or more
44% within a year
Against Bitcoin
11% did better than Bitcoin over the year

History, not a forecast.

Red flags and things to watch

No red flags found
  • Polymarket V2's OracleAggregator connects both UMA and Chainlink; moving new markets to it was planned for about 2 Nov 2026.[9]
  • In Aug 2026, 7,605 duplicate Polymarket requests were posted in about 15 hours; one automated proposer lost 37,875 USDC.e in bonds.[8]
  • The CFTC's 6 Oct 2026 licensing notice mentions that Polymarket V2 uses UMA and Chainlink for settlement.[14]

Checked: admin keys, contract upgrades, unlocks, insider supply, hacks, legal actions and claims against records.

Sources and dates