SonicS

The coin of Sonic, the fast Ethereum-compatible blockchain that replaced Fantom; FTM holders migrated to S.

Rank #199Since January 2025
Price on 31 Oct 2026
C$0.0561 +87.2% since 31 Jul 2026 · 96.2% below its all-time high

The short version

S pays fees and secures staking on Sonic, the successor to the Fantom blockchain, launched in Jan 2025 when FTM holders migrated to S. Sonic Labs, whose notices are issued by Fantom Operations Ltd, is led by CEO Matt Visser after Andre Cronje, Michael Kong and David Richardson left the board on 20 Jun 2026. On 21 Sep 2026 the company cancelled all manual S mints and commissioned an independent supply audit. On 31 Oct 2026 one S cost C$0.0561. From 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026 its price changed +87.2% in Canadian dollars, and it was 96.2% below its all-time high of C$1.49 set on 4 Jan 2025.[1]

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 11 sources · next update about 1 Dec 2026

Price, past year

Past year: high C$0.2387 (8 Nov 2025) · low C$0.0285 (26 Jun 2026) · -70.6%[1]

Month-end prices (table)
DateC$US$
31 Oct 2026C$0.0565US$0.0405
30 Sep 2026C$0.0535US$0.0376
31 Aug 2026C$0.0382US$0.0275
31 Jul 2026C$0.0302US$0.0215
30 Jun 2026C$0.0348US$0.0245
31 May 2026C$0.0559US$0.0405
30 Apr 2026C$0.0614US$0.0452
31 Mar 2026C$0.0560US$0.0403
28 Feb 2026C$0.0550US$0.0402
31 Jan 2026C$0.0830US$0.0615
31 Dec 2025C$0.1054US$0.0770
30 Nov 2025C$0.1509US$0.1076

Daily prices from CoinGecko; C$ converted at the Bank of Canada daily rate. The latest point is live when available. Past prices, not a forecast.

Choose what to see

Key facts

Price, 31 Oct 2026
C$0.0561[1]
3-month change
+87.2% in C$ (31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026)[1]
From its high
96.2% below its high of C$1.49 (4 Jan 2025)[1]
Market rank
#199, market value about C$217.4M[1]
Kind
Native coin · Sonic (its own network)
Started
January 2025

Checks: the same 9 questions for every coin

Facts, not a rating
Can an admin key create new coins?Not disclosedAll manual mints cancelled 21 Sep 2026; whether any key can still mint is not published[2]
Can anyone freeze or take coins from holders?NoNo freeze or blacklist function found for native S[3]
Can the token's contract code be changed?Not applicableRuns on its own blockchain; its rules change only through network upgrades
Is the supply capped?NoNo hard cap; validator emissions continue[4, 2]
Any scheduled unlocks in the next 12 months?NoManual mints cancelled; DefiLlama still models a 47.6M July 2027 funding tranche[2, 4]
Does a team or foundation hold over 10% of supply?Not disclosedSonic Labs' share of migrated FTM and its treasury are not published[4]
Do network fees reach coin holders?NoThe company ruled out buybacks, burns and fee sharing on 21 Sep 2026[2]
Main network hacked or halted in the past 2 years?NoNo exploit or halt of the Sonic chain found since Nov 2024; app exploits do not count[5]
Is a regulator or court case targeting the coin itself?NoNo regulator or court case found; the Kong matter is a private contract dispute[6]

Each answer is a fact with a source, not a score. What each check means.

Who controls it

Run by
Sonic Labs (issuer Fantom Operations Ltd); CEO Matt Visser and COO Kosta Kourkoumelis since 20 Jun 2026[7]
Board changes
Andre Cronje, Michael Kong and David Richardson left the board on 20 Jun 2026[7]
Kong contract
Ended 15 Sep 2026 with immediate effect; outstanding matters handled through legal channels[6]
US arm
Sonic USA LLC (Delaware) approved by a community vote in Aug 2025[8]

Supply

In circulation
3.89B S[1]
Maximum supply
None set[1]
Supply
3.25B circulating of a 4.60B modelled total (DefiLlama); figures conflict across sources[4]
Manual mints
All cancelled on 21 Sep 2026; only validator emissions continue[2]
New coins
About 73.7M S of block rewards over 12 months[4]
Supply audit
Independent audit commissioned 21 Sep 2026; report not published by 31 Oct 2026[2]

Use and fees

Main use
Gas and staking; payments, stablecoin FX rails, tokenisation and AI-agent tools[2]
Network fees
About US$101K in the past year; apps US$14.2M; TVL US$15.2M[9]
Who gets fees
No buyback, burn or fee sharing; ruled out in the 21 Sep 2026 letter[2]

Trading

Daily trading
About C$44.3M a day on average, 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026[1]
Daily turnover
Typically 17.23% of its market value changes hands each day[1]
20-week average
26.2% above its 20-week average price[1]
1-year change
-72.0% in C$[1][10]

History

Not a forecast

Coins ranked 51-200 at this point in past cycles (12-14 months after a Bitcoin peak), one year later: 4,050 cases, 612 coins

39% were higher a year later[11]

Typical result
Median -25% after a year; 45% higher after two years
Lost half or more
38% within a year
Against Bitcoin
12% did better than Bitcoin over the year

History, not a forecast.

Red flags and things to watch

No red flags found
  • Sonic V2.2 went live on 22 Sep 2026, adding bundled transactions, sponsored fees and larger contract limits.[2]
  • The supply audit commissioned on 21 Sep 2026 was due within weeks and had not been published by 31 Oct 2026.[2]
  • TVL was about US$15.2M on 31 Oct 2026, down from more than US$1.1B in May 2025.[9, 7]

Checked: admin keys, contract upgrades, unlocks, insider supply, hacks, legal actions and claims against records.

Sources and dates