Origin ProtocolOGN

The governance and staking token of Origin, which issues yield-bearing tokens such as OETH and OUSD.

Rank #896Since 2020
Price on 31 Oct 2026
C$0.0341 +63.2% since 31 Jul 2026 · 99.2% below its all-time high

The short version

Origin Protocol, Inc., a US company, runs yield-bearing tokens: OETH for staked ether, Super OETH on Base, OUSD and ARM vaults. Its products charge a 20% performance fee, and net protocol fees fund OGN purchases that are distributed to xOGN stakers. Backers include Pantera Capital and Foundation Capital. On 31 Oct 2026 one OGN cost C$0.0341. From 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026 its price changed +63.2% in Canadian dollars, and it was 99.2% below its all-time high of C$4.23 set on 8 Apr 2021.[1]

Checked 31 Oct 2026 · 16 sources · next update about 1 Dec 2026

Price, past year

Past year: high C$0.0652 (9 Oct 2026) · low C$0.0206 (1 Jul 2026) · -45.9%[1]

Month-end prices (table)
DateC$US$
31 Oct 2026C$0.0341US$0.0244
30 Sep 2026C$0.0285US$0.0200
31 Aug 2026C$0.0247US$0.0178
31 Jul 2026C$0.0209US$0.0149
30 Jun 2026C$0.0214US$0.0150
31 May 2026C$0.0295US$0.0214
30 Apr 2026C$0.0316US$0.0233
31 Mar 2026C$0.0294US$0.0211
28 Feb 2026C$0.0482US$0.0352
31 Jan 2026C$0.0548US$0.0406
31 Dec 2025C$0.0420US$0.0307
30 Nov 2025C$0.0513US$0.0366

Daily prices from CoinGecko; C$ converted at the Bank of Canada daily rate. The latest point is live when available. Past prices, not a forecast.

Choose what to see

Key facts

Price, 31 Oct 2026
C$0.0341[1]
3-month change
+63.2% in C$ (31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026)[1]
From its high
99.2% below its high of C$4.23 (8 Apr 2021)[1]
Market rank
#896, market value about C$25.6M[1]
Kind
Token · Ethereum (ERC-20); also on Base and Sonic
Started
2020

Checks: the same 9 questions for every coin

Facts, not a rating
Can an admin key create new coins?NoOnly an Origin governance vote, through a 2-day timelock that owns the contract, can mint OGN[2, 3]
Can anyone freeze or take coins from holders?YesOwner, a 2-day timelock run by Origin's governance vote, can burn any holder's OGN or pause transfers[2, 3]
Can the token's contract code be changed?NoFixed contract code on Ethereum, not a proxy[4]
Is the supply capped?NoThe owner contract can mint; 1.41B is the current total, not an enforced cap[4, 5]
Any scheduled unlocks in the next 12 months?Not disclosed660.1M OGN sit outside circulation with no published release schedule[5]
Does a team or foundation hold over 10% of supply?Not disclosed660M OGN (47%) outside circulation; holders not identified[5]
Do network fees reach coin holders?YesNet fees fund OGN purchases for xOGN stakers: US$0.80M in the past year[6, 7]
Main network hacked or halted in the past 2 years?NoLast exploit was Nov 2020 (OUSD, US$7.7M)[8]
Is a regulator or court case targeting the coin itself?NoNo live regulator or court case naming Origin found[9]

Each answer is a fact with a source, not a score. What each check means.

Who controls it

Company
Origin Protocol, Inc. (US)[10]
Backers
Pantera Capital, Foundation Capital; angels Steve Chen and Alexis Ohanian[11]
Admin key
Token owner, a 2-day timelock run by governance votes, can mint, burn any balance and pause; not paused 1 Nov 2026[2, 3, 12]

Supply

In circulation
749.57M OGN of a 1.41B maximum (53.2%)[1]
Fully diluted value
1.88 times its current market value[1]
Outside circulation
660.1M of 1.41B OGN (47%), with no published holder or release schedule[5]
Staked
42.76% of supply staked as xOGN[10]
Holders
Top 10 Ethereum addresses hold 72%; the largest, a contract, holds 42.8%[13, 4]

Use and fees

Fees
20% performance fee on yield: US$4.0M of fees and US$0.80M to holders in the past year[14, 7]
To stakers
Docs: net fees after operating costs fund OGN purchases; the website says 100% of fees[6, 10]
Deposits
US$71.3M in Origin products (DefiLlama, 31 Oct 2026)[7]

Trading

Daily trading
About C$13.5M a day on average, 31 Jul 2026 to 31 Oct 2026[1]
Daily turnover
Typically 15.26% of its market value changes hands each day[1]
20-week average
23.8% above its 20-week average price[1]
1-year change
-46.4% in C$[1][15]

History

Not a forecast

Coins ranked 201-500 at this point in past cycles (12-14 months after a Bitcoin peak), one year later: 8,067 cases, 1,187 coins (this coin ranks below 500, so the nearest group is shown)

33% were higher a year later[16]

Typical result
Median -38% after a year; 33% higher after two years
Lost half or more
44% within a year
Against Bitcoin
11% did better than Bitcoin over the year

History, not a forecast.

Red flags and things to watch

1 red flag found
  • Red flag: OGN's owner, a 2-day timelock run by Origin's on-chain governance vote, can burn OGN from any wallet and pause all transfers (contract code, 1 Nov 2026).[2, 3]
  • Origin launched a public revenue, deposits and token dashboard on 1 Sep 2026.[9]

Checked: admin keys, contract upgrades, unlocks, insider supply, hacks, legal actions and claims against records.

Sources and dates